Elive

Help us in a better way with reports that includes all the needed (but not excesive) information. It may not mean a lot to you, but it means a world to us. see the last comment of #231

Tasklist

FS#556 - Upgrade system feature request

Attached to Project: Elive
Opened by Roman Vik (conny) - Saturday, 06 March 2010, 14:55 GMT-7
Last edited by Thanatermesis (thanatermesis) - Sunday, 28 March 2010, 12:51 GMT-7
Task Type Feature Request
Category Any
Status Unconfirmed
Assigned To No-one
Operating System All
Severity Low
Priority Normal
Reported Version 2.0
Due in Version 3.0
Due Date Undecided
Percent Complete 0%
Votes 0
Private No

Details

The needed “features” for upgrading system from ISO (CD or HDD ISO):

- let the gadgets be as they were before
- let the background be as it was
- lost the hotkey setup from the keyboard shortcuts made by myself
- lost the installed applications, they’re still on HDD but they’re not installed

This task depends upon

Comment by Thanatermesis (thanatermesis) - Sunday, 28 March 2010, 12:51 GMT-7

The e17 configuration is not really easy to maintain, but could be a very good feature to have, of course. By other side it is a very delicated work (can be unstable) and im not sure if will be a good idea to add this feature, even if is a nice feature to have.

Please describe better "installed applications", how that they are not installed but are in the HDD ? the installer has a feature for maintain a list of installed applications, if you choose the complete install mode

Comment by Roman Vik (conny) - Sunday, 28 March 2010, 14:56 GMT-7

Well, all the installed applications lost their settings, even email client icedove, and others.. opera lost due to lost links to itself in system and in fact all system begin from clean install with user data left as the were before.. But I see, it will be almost impossible to follow the user settings for all installed programs and insert them again in new system.. But would be nice to let some note about what is going to happened when upgrading system. User data will be untouched, it's true. But setting will be lost..

Comment by Thanatermesis (thanatermesis) - Monday, 29 March 2010, 05:40 GMT-7

Not really, when you do an install in "upgrade mode" the user's settings are saved too, not all of them, but the big part of them, in the case of icedove it is saved too, so you must have another kind of problem because should be saved, it is strange that will not be saved... can you try if this problem happens too on another machine ?

Loading...